I was made for another planet altogether I mistook the way.” ― Simone de Beauvoir.

Earth seems a strange planet when changes take place faster than usual and time seems not to be enough to do the usual things especially the ones you like. Too many hours teaching my beloved students, those little 2nd grade students who have grown up, sat the exams for the certificates and diplomas every weekend since the last week of november. Thinking the year that goes by and what has happened to me I can only  think of my students and their influence on my life and way of thinking. Many times I have been thinking that I may belong to another planet and not Earth, and probably I mistook the way; but instantly I change my mind feeling that sense of belonging to this tiny part of the world, called Greece!

32173919-media_httpfarm7static_chype

But then thinking how many travels I have made and under which circumstances I realise, that the way I mistook is because I was made for that faraway Planet and I still have to find my way there. I f you got puzzled my friends well I know where I am but I wish I had the chance to visit that far away planet,the one my friends and students believe I come from. I don’t know who is going to discover that first, while waiting for that momentous thing to happen, I thought of suggesting space books  for  the lovers of Space and explorations. Althought the list is endless I hope you like my short list and you choose to buy one as a holiday present. Till the next post(being soon to catch up with the lost time) enjoy every minute and in case you mistook the way , don’t worry all roads lead home.

you-will-go-to-the-moon-vintage

It concerns an imaginary trip to the Moon taken by a young boy and his adult friend. I came across that title and got in love with it! A very old and rare book which you can enjoy, once visiting the link below you will find incredible info for nonfiction books on science from 1945-1975! http://dreamsofspace.blogspot.gr/2016_06_01_archive.html

 

voyage_in_the_clouds__800x0_q85_crop

In 1783, Englishman John Jeffries and his pilot, Frenchman Jean-Pierre Blanchard, propose to do the impossible: sail a hot-air balloon from England to France. The problem? They can’t stand each other.

ursas_light-cover__800x0_q85_crop

Bears aren’t meant to fly: They “don’t have wings for a reason,” says Ursa’s father. “Ab.Surd.” say her friends. She invents a flying suit, a rocket, a batsuit—all fail. But cast in the school play as a shooting star, Ursa shines. A sweet tale of perseverance.

armstrong1__800x0_q85_crop

A stargazing mouse is determined to prove the moon isn’t made of cheese, and with a little help from the Smithsonian Institution, he constructs a spacesuit and rocket sled. But the FBI has labeled him a Rodent Saboteur; will they stop his journey, or will the tiny astronaut be the first to walk on the moon

9781509824083
Young Chris is an astronaut. A very busy astronaut. Saving the planet from aliens is much more important than taking baths or going to bed. Because at bedtime the worst sort of alien appears – darkness. But when Chris watches the first televised moon landing, he discovers that there is a dark out in Space that is much darker than he’s used to.

9780750293846

‘If the Sun were the size of a grapefruit, Earth would be the size of a grain of salt. Even the largest planet, Jupiter, would be only as big as a large pea.’ Some things are so big or so old that it’s hard to wrap your mind around them. In If, we look at these hard-to-imagine objects and events and compare them to things we can instantly see, feel and touch. It is wonderful new way of seeing the world and is a fascinating way of understanding numbers and big ideas for children aged 8 and upwards.

 

hqdefault

The planetarium is closed for repairs, so the Magic School Bus blasts off on a real tour of the solar system. After their previous field trips, the children in Ms. Frizzle’s class are rather blasé about landing on the Moon, Venus, and Mars. A first-class introduction to the planets, fine for pleasure or purpose reading.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

